Parlez-vous Olympics?

I apologize for any typos that may appear in the following post but I’m exhausted from the 16 laps I just did of my living room and still numb from the pain of kicking the coffee table on one of the turns:

About 15 minutes ago I received my final confirmation for my media pass to the Vancouver Olympics next month. If you’re unsure of what that is, my sources tell me it’s some sort of athletic competition.

I don’t know, it’s supposed to be a big deal I guess.

Regardless (By the way, is anyone else outraged over the admittance of irregardless to the dictionary?), I am going to be out there from start to finish writing stories and blogging about what I see and experience. There will be hoards of media already covering the Games but I plan to seek out stories not told by the big networks and publications.

As it turns out, a few folks from some other countries heard about the festivities and are going to be in Vancouver as well (apparently with the same contacts as me). So I imagine I will be able to rustle up a few good stories about people from around the world.

Anyway, the entire event begins on Feb. 12 and I heard through my journalistic grapevine that some type of ceremony is planned to kick it all off. However, that same source tells me it’s a rather exclusive party and I probably won’t get in.

Maybe someone will have a video camera there.

Either way, I encourage everyone to check in on me and my adventures while I’m out there. Hopefully I can provide a different look at the Games.

I don’t want to sound overconfident but I think, with some hard work, we could help make the Olympics one of the bigger sporting events in the world.

One Response to “Parlez-vous Olympics?”

  1. Kellie Smith Says:

    The people picking words for the dictionary should be shot!

Leave a Reply

